This year, it’s a killer

So. No one wanted to write this week. We’ve been doing so good with the holidays not screwing up our positing schedule, but this week it was too much.

Twenty-four hours ago we found out that Carrie Fisher, prolific writer, unapologetic badass, mental health hero, General Organa, and destroyer of the patriarchy has become one with the Force.

Ten minutes ago we found out that her mother, beautiful, hilarious, talented, Debbie Reynolds, died of a broken heart, from the pain no parent wants to endure.

After a year of so many profound losses, who would want to write a blog post? Anything would sound pithy and trite.

I know I speak for all of the Scribes when I say our hearts and thoughts are with Billie Lourd at this breathtakingly difficult time and hope that she has the love and support she needs to survive it. And poor little Gary.

It’s difficult to know what to write today. It’s difficult to find words and light when this year, this fucking year, seems to want to steal our childhood heroes and destroy our hope for a better, brighter future.

But Carrie never gave up. Even when she lost her mind, she fought back. So we’ll fight back. We’ll get up, pick up our pens, and we’ll fight.

342582

And, I don’t know about you, but I am going to stay up until midnight on New Year’s Eve this year. Just so I can watch this mean sunnovabitch of a year end.

tumblr_oiuwwyrb4q1qcffyto1_500

Now. Excuse me while I go watch Singing in the Rain and hug my dogs.

2 thoughts on “This year, it’s a killer

  1. livrancourt

    More than once I saw the headline that went something like “read the heartbreaking tweets Carrie’s dog sent saying goodbye”, and that alone made me tear up. No way could I read what Gary supposedly sent. It’s just all so sad…

    1. Shauna Granger

      I am an animal person and my two dogs really are my furbabbies. I worry about what would happen to them if anything happened to us. And when I think about how much time she spent with Gary and how he won’t understand where she is. Ugh. My heart aches.

Show Us Some Love!

