Books to Movies

I’m a movie fan. I wouldn’t say buff because I don’t really get into all the actors/actresses names and the other details, but I enjoy going to the movies a couple of times a month.

And of course, I’m a book lover to the nth degree. However, movies from books are not usually my favorite. I’m not a big Nicholas Sparks fan. His stories just aren’t my type of read. I didn’t care for the Twilight movies either, and the books, well that’s a post for another day.

There are times though, that the movie turns out to be really good. I love The Hunger Games movies and, with exception of book 3, love that series as well.

One great thing about books to movies is I find out about books I might want to read. Like The Maze Runner. I watched that movie this past year and I’m seriously considering reading the whole series.

On the same note, there are books turned movies that I’d rather just see the movie and not read the book. As much as I like the movie version of Divergent, I’m not a huge fan of the book.

So what book to movie are you most looking forward to in 2015? Not sure what movies are coming out? Here’s an good article with the list.

A few I’m looking forward to: Mockingjay Part 2, The Duff, and Insurgent. The one movie I will see, but I can’t say I’m looking forward to it…Fifty Shades.

Do you like when books are turned into movies? What are your favorites? Any movies that you refuse to see because they might ruin the book?

2 thoughts on “Books to Movies

  1. I’ll admit I actually wasn’t a fan of the Hunger Games books…the style of writing just wasn’t to my tastes. I do really like the movies, though, and look forward to Mockingjay Pt. 2!

    A lot of avid readers tend to scoff at people who discover books through their movies, and while it’s a great feeling to really understand something in a movie because you already know the background/history through the books, I don’t see how discovering a good book by any means can be a bad thing.

    One problem I tend to have when I’m seeing the movie of a book I love is expecting everything on screen to follow what I’ve already read. Do you try to separate the book from the movie, or are you disappointed when the big screen fails to deliver your favorite chapters?

Show Us Some Love!

