Ideas But No Time

As I’m on deadline and procrastinating because that’s what I do…I started thinking about my next project.

Do you ever feel like you have all the ideas but no time to finish them? What do you do about that?

I have a folder of new ideas. One or two sentences to describe a plot or character. Those are the “I’ll get to them eventually” ideas. Then there are the stories I’ve started, but haven’t finished. Those are in their own folders. I go to them when I need a break from my current project.

I read on Facebook the other day and author post that she had tons of ideas but when it’s time to start a new book none of them seem right. Some are too similar to what she’s already written. Others don’t have enough umph. It’s another problem of having all the ideas and not enough time. Because let’s face it, when we are on deadline or limited in time we have to go with the idea that flies from our fingers as we type.

It was good to see I’m not the only one who looks back at my folder of possibilities only to feel like nothing would work.

I’m curious…what do you do with all of your ideas?

One thought on “Ideas But No Time

  1. livrancourt

    I have an Evernote doc called “Ideas and Dreams”. It’s kind of a stream-of-consciousness thing; whenever I hear a good line of dialogue or come up with something cool, I just drop it in there. Every so often I scan it and pick up something useful. No organization, but then they call me the Queen of Clutter for a reason.
    😉

Show Us Some Love!

