New Year New Idea

Hello! I hope your 2014 is starting out right. I know mine is. Busy as ever, but that’s the fun part…most of the time.

As the new year dawned I sat down and made a list of all the stories I needed to write. Like the new year, new ideas make me giddy, frustrated, and exhausted by the end. How can a new idea (supposed to be exciting) make me feel all those things? Well, let me tell you.

In the beginning I’m thinking NEW. SHINY. FUN. This is my motto Then I get this fabulous plot twist (at least I think it’s fabulous twist) . The planning really takes off and I look a lot like this

So I sit down and start writing. After about a third of the way through this happens…

Then after a pep talk, or ten, I get back to the shiny new idea and finish writing the story. When I type those lovely final two words THE END my excitement becomes this

And then I start the process all over again with another story. Rinse and repeat!

Please tell me I’m not the only one who goes through this craziness. What’s your process when  you start something new?

5 thoughts on “New Year New Idea

  1. I know what you mean about the papers in the air part. With my last major project, I started to get stodgy about 1/3 to 1/2 way through, so to prevent myself from giving up, I started posting chunks of the earlier chapters to my blog (Sunday Snippets, or something like that). Anyway, the positive response to the early bits gave me the motivation to keep going.
    Hope you have fabulous fun with your ideas for 2014, Jen!

    1. Jennah Scott

      Yep! It’s GREAT then it’s crap then it’s GREAT then it’s crap! I feel like I’m on a non-stop merry-go-round. lol

Show Us Some Love!

