Let ‘Em Go

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

And they say, don’t forget where you come from. Don’t die holding
onto your words, cause you know you got a whole world to change,
but understand who you got to change first.
Victory Lap
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

You’ve heard of Macklemore, right? The Thrift Shop dude? What? What?What?What?What? Yeah, that one. I bet you didn’t expect to find him in a Spellbound Scribes post. I mean, our posts generally lean towards vampires and the writers who love them, right? But I have tickets to see Macklemore & Ryan Lewis this week, so I’ve been listening to a lot of their music.

And you know what?

Much what they have to say can be directly applied to just about anyone who reaches out creatively, whether through writing or music or visual art. Hell, their music can be applied to anyone who tries to live.

Check out the quotes I included with this post. Victory Lap is a song about coming up the hard way and finding success. Ten Thousand Hours talks about practice and dedication and getting sober. And Inhale Deep is another song about recovery, about finding yourself without the crutch of drugs or alcohol. These are songs that demand thought. They challenge you to raise the bar of your own life.

The greats weren’t great because at birth they could paint.
The greats were great because they paint a lot.
Ten Thousand Hours.
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Since most of us are writers here, let’s take a look from that perspective. The main reason to dive into the NaNoWriMo craziness is so we don’t die holding onto our words. And not just a few words. A lot of writing. 50,000 words. Writing as a daily practice. Writing to tell your truth. Writing that comes from your heart and from your soul.

The spirit’s there to knock you down, but if you make that the end, then you’ll never know the beauty of being able to stand up again.
Inhale Deep
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Dude can even make me feel better about getting yet another rejection: success won’t happen if I’m not putting it out there.

Some of their songs aren’t quite so…serious, and I fully intend to dance pretty much from start to finish. Yes, I’m 51 years old, so not necessarily part of their usual demographic, but I’m more excited about this show than my teenagers are. I’m only going to get one chance at this life, and on Wednesday night, at least, I’m going to have a really, really, really good time.
Peace,
Liv

Please take a moment to enjoy my current fave…And We Danced… and if you have a favorite Macklemore song, leave the title in the comments. 😉

6 thoughts on “Let ‘Em Go

  1. Have fun! My daughter and her friends went to see him a couple summers ago. They couldn’t drive yet, so I drove them and could hear him from outside in the parking lot. They said the show was great! Wear your dancing shoes, LOL

    1. livrancourt

      I could have done a whole playlist of his stuff, Shauna. Same Love is a beautiful song, and Can’t Hold Us is amazing, and White Walls is awfully catchy, and the song he made as a tribute to (Mariner’s legend) Dave Neihaus makes me cry every time I hear it….
      😉

Show Us Some Love!

