The Great (and embarrassing) Phobia Post

Halloween. It’s a-comin’. The stores around me are filled to bursting with goblins and ghouls, headstones and skulls.

And I have to say…I love it.

It’s always fun to see all the stuff that’s scary, and all the stuff that’s not, as Halloween approaches each year. It’s also been fun to watch my child as she learns to be afraid of the things you’re supposed to be afraid of. When she was one, we recorded video footage of her dancing to the Halloween theme song…now she knows enough to shudder when that same piece of music comes on.

Halloween’s also a good time to reflect on our real-life fears and phobias, and to think about why they freak us out. I thought I’d use my time here to list some of my own. I figure this list is not only fun, but for those of us developing new characters day in and day out, it’s a good reminder: people are afraid of weird things. Don’t be afraid to give your characters a random (but well-supported) phobia or two. It can add depth and…well…possibly a little bizarre-o humor.

Enjoy!

clown
The look of pure evil

1. Clowns. This is not unique to me, but seems to be a trend among my generation (I grew up in the 80s). We are the watchers of Poltergeist, and the readers of It. We learned to fear clown dolls that lurked under beds, and clown monsters that lurked in sewers. To this day, the sight of a clown makes me nauseated, and I know I’m not alone.

 

geese
I will eat your face!!!

2. Canada geese. *gasps in horror* When I was just a wee thing (not more than 2), my brother and cousins were watching me at a park while our mothers stepped away for a second. I was strapped in my stroller, snug as a bug. When a gaggle of Canada geese swarmed us, they all ran for cover, hopping up on a nearby picnic table, but they LEFT ME IN THE STROLLER ON THE GROUND. Apparently when my mom found me I was traumatized. Today, if Ihave to run past a group of geese in one of the dozens of ponds in my neighborhood, I struggle. I have to yell at them and make them move in order to pass.

neck
Thank God my neck isn’t this long!

3. I can’t have anyone touch my neck. Not even my husband or child. I’m not sure from whence this little weirdness comes, but I think I harbor deep-seated fears of being strangled to death. Seriously. If you touch my neck, I jerk away. If you grab it like a hairy mad-man about to kill me, I scream and cry and it takes me an hour to recover.. It’s embarrassing.

 

spider
I think she is beautiful…and terrifying.

4. Spiders. Really, I don’t WANT to be afraid of spiders. I LIKE spiders. But if they’re near me, or moving, or…well,especially if my CHILD PICKS ONE UP….yeah, I’m not happy. My heart races, my palms sweat…it’s terribly childish, but it is what it is. A few years ago, I got really attached to a spider that looks like this <——– that set up camp in our back yard. I’d watch her for hours, but always from a distance. When she died, I mourned…but I made my husband clean up her carcass. I wasn’t going NEAR that thing!

 

tick-1
Ick. Just…ick.

5. Ticks. I had Lyme Disease as a kid and was pretty sick. The sight of a tick today will reduce me to a wibbly-wobbly, screaming pile of goo on the kitchen floor. I live in fear of the day my childcomes home with a tick embedded in her skin…it won’t be pretty.

There. Five of my phobias, on very public display. Now it’s your turn…what are yours?

4 thoughts on “The Great (and embarrassing) Phobia Post

  1. Shauna Granger

    I don’t know how embarrassing any of these are! I share most of them! I’m okay with the neck, but the skin of my chest, just below the collarbones makes me wig out. Even if I take a bubble bath, I can’t handle bubbles resting there. Strangely though, I can wear necklaces just fine – but if someone reaching to look at the charm on the necklace and their fingers brush my skin I flip out. See, you’re not weird. Well, not any more weird than the rest of us!

    And clowns? I think they’ll be the first we kill during the apocalypse.

  2. Oh god, spiders. I am deeply, permanently afraid of spiders. I don’t have a thing about my neck, but I have a thing about feet–if someone either touches my bare feet or worse, touches me with their bare feet, I flip out. What weird creatures we all are!

  3. Geese and anything feathered that flies. I don’t want to be afraid of them. I tell myself that it’s silly, but then when they come near me…I run like an Olympic sprinter. If they are in my path, I’ll walk miles to go around. And you know what? Birds hate me. They know, I tell you!

  4. Leah Rhyne

    Hahahaha, I am SO GLAD to learn it’s not just me! And see? That’s my point? We’re all utterly bizarre, so it’s great to keep that in mind when we’re building characters!! πŸ˜€

    P.S. Birds hate me too. But I’m ok with that. It’s pretty mutual. πŸ˜€

Show Us Some Love!

