Book Club for Two

Hopefully this will be my husband and me in a few years. Photo by Nico Aguilera.

My husband and I are both voracious readers. And, since we’re married, it’s pretty clear we prefer each other’s company to everyone else’s. (I mean, if Nathan Fillion shows up on the door and says, “Hey, Kristin, you want to go out for a glass of wine and a trip to the craft store? My treat!”—well, I’m not gonna pretend that isn’t intriguing.)

But for the most part, the husband and I spend most of our time together.

We’ve long had trouble committing to joint hobbies, though. (Playing video games and watching Doctor Who just don’t quite cut it.) We tried tennis for awhile, but then we discovered that tennis is hot, sweaty work that requires chasing fuzzy balls around for long periods of time. Then we tried blending our own tea, but one cup of almond-lavender failure convinced us that maybe it was just easier and more fun to buy teas than make them.

So this year, as part of a series of New Year’s resolutions, we decided to read one nonfiction book together every month, and discuss it when we finished… We made it through a single book before we realized that our taste in nonfiction is just too different. (“You want to read about Eleanor WHO in the Middle Ages?!”

A few months passed with no joint hobbies, but this summer we signed up for a Coursera class about science fiction and fantasy. While the class itself was only okay, we discovered that reading books in our shared favorite genre and then analyzing them together was quite a lot of fun.

When the class was done, I proposed a trade: we read The Mists of Avalon together so that Drew could get an introduction to feminist fantasy and King Arthur, and in exchange, I would read a book of his choosing. In the end, he chose Dune, and it’s proved to be a far better read so far—though that’s a topic for another post.

While it’s hard to avoid gendered reading (i.e., Mists is a “girl book” and Dune is a “boy book”), especially since we’ve continued trading books, we’ve found that reading together opens us up to new interpretations of and realizations about the text that we might not have seen on our own. I flatter myself to think that with my literary training, I’ve given my husband new things to consider in reading one of his favorite books. And, together, we were able to puzzle out a few reasons why The Mists of Avalon continues to be an honored work of fantasy.

We’ve had a few rocky moments, too, of course. I may have said one or two many disparaging things about the main character of Dune and Herbert’s love of describing a tent entrance as a “sphincter.” And… well, no, I wasn’t particularly offended by Drew’s dislike of Mists, since I didn’t much like it either. But we’re learning to see books we know and love (or at least respect) through the eyes of a new and different reader.

Plus, it gives us something to talk about on the many miles we walk each night for our other hobby: fending off couch-butt.

Have you ever tried a joint reading-endeavor? How did it go?

8 thoughts on “Book Club for Two

  1. This is absolutely adorable. What a great idea! I was thinking that my husband and I have such VARIED interests that it’d be really hard finding something we both could at least endure, if not enjoy, but this makes me think there has to be SOMEthing out there.

  2. livrancourt

    My husband recently read a four-volume biography of Lyndon Johnson, and I’m all, “are there vampires in that?” So no, we haven’t tried a joint reading effort. The closest we get is when he reads the stuff I write. We did put together a blues band one time, with me singing lead & him on bass. I figure the odds are better of us putting together another musical project than trying to read the same books. Good for you, though, for making it work!
    😉

  3. Shauna Granger

    My hubs wasn’t much of a reader before I came along, but when we were dating and engaged, I took time to get into “his stuff.” Like martial arts and watching the UFC. Now I scream at the fighters just as much as he does. So in return he started reading books I like. First, Harry Potter. One of my favorite memories was him finishing GoF and coming out ranting about how much better it was than the movie. Since then he’s read many books that I’ve loved and we talk about them and he’s become a beta reader for me. It’s more than awesome. Finding a balance of things we can both enjoy is something that reinforces our friendship.

  4. I LOVE this idea! Especially choosing books for each other and then giving the book chosen for you a fair shot. What a wonderful story–thank you for sharing! I hope you have many happy years of reading together ahead of you!

  5. This is a great idea, my husband and I read together each night. We read a variety of books that he allows me to pick and each night before bed we read two chapters. Well I read out loud to him while he rubs my feet and who wouldn’t love that idea! It gives us just a bit of time together every night and it’s become quite a special part of our day.

  6. Pingback: Linky Things | Kristin McFarland

Show Us Some Love!

