The Pet Psychic

I’m sitting here thinking about the new book I’m working on and I have to say, I’m a believer. Maybe it’s because I grew up in a world where folklore and myth trickles into what we know as reality, but for whatever reason, I believe in the unknown.

A few months ago, I met Jeanne Miller, a pet medium, through one of the writer forums I frequent. We struck up a great conversation over email and she offered to do a pet reading for me. I didn’t even hesitate (who passes up an offer like that?), so of course I said yes!

Before she did the reading, I wanted to have an idea what to expect, so I purchased her book, The Pet Psychic Diaries. 

81FgrGWgSiL._SL1200_Even for those non-believers, it was a hilarious and heartfelt account on Jeanne’s life as a pet psychic. The stories that she shared brought laughter and tears.

Now, some of you know that the hubby and I lost our little Guapo last October, so I was thrilled (and scared) to have Jeanne talk to him to see if he was okay. Gus, our other pug, was also going to have a chance to talk to Jeanne and I was so happy to finally figure him out!

photoGus (fawn) and Guapo (black)

After sending my five questions and messages, Jeanne came back with her readings and if I was ever a skeptic, this would have changed my mind. Keep in mind that my questions and messages to my pugs were very generic. What Jeanne’s reading uncovered was nothing short of real.

Here are some highlights from Gus’ reading:

Jeanne said he was a real gentleman and that Gus told her that, “I’m pretty well-behaved. I’ve always been the best behaved out of all of us,” and that he was quite proud of this.

Now, of all our dogs, Gus has always been the best behaved. He’s so smart and to be honest, all he does is sleep. You can’t get better behaved than that!

“I like when Mom sings that song to me. It’s just for me.”

I never told Jeanne that I sing him songs!

One of my questions for Gus was if he minded my hugs and kisses. This was his response: “Well, I like it more than I let on, but I have to be tough too so that Daddy knows I’m a tough boy like him. So sometimes I pretend I don’t like it. Sometimes, I just need to be a big boy.”

Whoa! I’m always telling my husband that Gus wants to be just like him and be a big boy!

From Guapo’s reading:

I won’t dwell on the questions/answers about his passing, but needless to say, I feel better about him after he let me know that he knew we loved him and there was nothing we could have done for him.

Jeanne asked him if he was in a good place (one of my questions) and his response was, “Oh, it is so pretty here! And I can make it look like whatever I want it to look like. Sometimes I make it look like our home, sometimes I make it look like a beach, and sometimes the woods…”

I never told Jeanne that the hubby and I take our dogs camping. The only “scenes” Guapo knew are our house, the beach, and the woods. When I told my husband what Guapo said, he was not impressed. “Duh, those are the only places we took him,” he said. I then when reminded my husband I never mentioned that to Jeanne, he was floored.

The real kicker was when Jeanne said he showed her a bumblebee. Guapo said, “sometimes I make them up so I can chase them. They sound funny and I like that.”

Guapo ALWAYS chased the bees in our backyard. While Gus was always unimpressed by anything other than food, Guapo was fascinated by bees and other critters.

There was a lot more, but if I keep looking back to the readings, I’ll continue to cry. But what really struck me was the tone in which Jeanne related the messages. Gus’ responses were very adult-like, while Guapo’s were childlike in nature. That’s exactly how I see them and how they interacted with us.

If you follow me on Facebook, you’ll know we added another pup shortly after Guapo’s passing. This is what they had to say about Gertie:

photo

Gus: “Well, I like her and I will like her more as time goes on. But right now, she can be a little annoying. She hasn’t learned the rules and I try to teach her but she doesn’t always listen to me. Or Mom.”

Guapo: “And the little girl and I play. Well, not so much play, as I chase her sometimes. But I think she’s getting used to me. I like her. She’s pretty.” (Guapo visits us BTW)

Now I know that when Gus and Gertie act strangely or when a bowl suddenly moves just a hair out of place, Guapo is here for a visit.

So, if you are ever interested in what your fur babies are thinking, you should definitely give Jeanne a holler. She is a fabulously kind and generous and a great person to work with. Not interested? Well at least give her book a chance. I swear it’ll make you laugh and think twice about what your pets are really thinking!

9 thoughts on “The Pet Psychic

  1. Shauna Granger

    I always joke that I’ve become a Crazy Dog Lady with my two furballs. Have to admit, even though those weren’t mine, I got a little choked up for you reading the answers! Very interesting, thanks for sharing!

  2. Oh, man, I had goosebumps! I loved Jeanne’s book, and can’t wait for the sequel. 😀 I’m so glad that you got some good answers from the session. And LOL at the part where Guapo said, “Well, not play so much as I chase her.” Hahaha! 😀 I bet Gertie loves THAT. 😉 (And I’m sure she’ll grow out of her annoying puppy phase soon, Gus!)

  3. Have known Jeanne for a while and her readings only get better. I have used Jeanne several times for readings for one of our strays, Charlie Ferguson, and her communications with him have been very effective.

  4. What a nice post about Jeanne! Loved her book and her stories always make me laugh and cry at the same time. Claudia, thank you for sharing your experience. I’m sorry for your loss. Our furry babies stay with us forever, but their passing is so hard on our hearts.

Show Us Some Love!

