The Claymation Spirit

I love Christmas so much, I should have been born Claymation.

You can't see me, because I'm standing behind Blitzen.
You can’t see me, because I’m standing behind Blitzen.

Seriously, you guys. December is my absolute favorite month of the year. I put my tree up the day after Thanksgiving, I listen to all sorts of holiday music, and I tend to go a little nuts buying gifts for my husband, who has long since learned to stop trying to control my inner elf.

When I was a kid, my mom really did Christmas right. She made our house into a wonderland, she played music all through the house, she enlisted us to decorate cookies and leave them for Santa. We even had a homemade cloth advent calendar with a little teddy bear that moved from room to room in his house, looking for Christmas. It added a little wonder to every day in December.

But one of my very favorite parts of the season has always been watching Christmas movies, from the stopmotion classics to National Lampoon to Love Actually. Nothing else can get me in the holiday spirit faster than watching, say,Ā A Christmas Story. There’s something about watching those kids tear into their loot that makes me feel like a kid again, and that’s what the holiday spirit is all about.

It’s that childlike glee and wonder, the possibility of magic and of dreams coming true if you just wait and hold your breath. Every day in December is full of anticipation: Will it snow? When can I move the teddy bear on the advent calendar? What’s in those mysterious, bright packages under the tree? What gorgeous lights and other small signs of real-life magic will I see today?

It’s the generosity and the kindness you see in the season, too, but it’s mostly the magic that makes me smile a little easier for a whole month.

What’s your favorite part of the holiday season? What really gets you into that holiday magic spirit? Any favorite holiday movies I haven’t listed here?

4 thoughts on “The Claymation Spirit

  1. Haha, I chuckled at your first line. šŸ˜€ I love when people get into the holiday spirit. I think it’s so cool. I didn’t celebrate Christmas growing up, but when I married my husband, he was all gaga about it. You could tell he’d been spoiled with stories of Santa and dozens of gifts every year. šŸ™‚ I, personally, love the tree. With all those lights and ornaments, it totally makes my entire house. I wish we could leave it plugged in and decorated all year long. If I had my say, we would. Oh, and I heart our Andy Williams CD, too! It’s not the holiday season if he’s not belting out the carols.

  2. Shauna Granger

    Oh yeah, love me some Christmas movies! All time favorite is probably Miracle on 34th St with the little Natalie Wood. Pretty sure the claymation Rudolph is on tonight and I’m totally watching it! But you know, I just saw Rise of the Guardians, not REALLY Christmas, but Santa is in it and Jack Frost and I have to say it was amazing.

Show Us Some Love!

