#BuffyWatch Part Four

(I know you were expecting a Saint Patrick’s Day themed post, but I’m sorry, no lucky charms here!)

Whoa. It’s been awhile since I last posted about the great #BuffyWatch! My bad!

If you’d like to read the last installment, you can check it here. If you’re new to the #buffywatch saga, basically Brian O’Conor and I have a bet to see who can finish BtVS or Supernatural first (I’m watching BtVS, Brian is watching SPN). Whoever wins gets to decide which series we use as a one-off game for our #MageTech troupe RPG first.

So I finished Season 5 last night and that was a fantastic ending. If you’ve read my YA series, then you know I’m a big fan of killing MCs and bringing them back – if you can do it believably. I know, I know, Buffy died once already, but she died in a very mortal way and was brought back with CPR, which is something a lot of people can do. I’m talkin’ catastrophic martyrdom.

I’m glad they waited to do this until the end of Season 5 because, if they do it right, when she comes back in Season 6, I’ll buy it. Buffy has grown enough as a character and “superhero” to accomplish this and my suspension of disbelief is strong enough, that I’ll go along with it. Since my last posting, I’ve watched two seasons, that’s a bit much for one post, so I’ll just do a recap of the larger plot elements. When I last wrote, Riley was a new character and I thought a good romantic match for Buffy.

We know Riley. What I didn’t get was the sudden gusting hate for that character from my friends. People who had been relatively quiet about mine and Brian’s bet suddenly burst on to Twitter with mega Riley-hate.

So I was waiting for it. Now the whole Initiative thing was just bleh for me. I really think that’s why I didn’t write a post when I finished Season 4. I think that season matches up with the Leviathan season Brian is in store for. Basically a few good episodes in the season but a major story arc you wish would just die.

Welp, needless to say I found out why the Riley-hate was so strong. GODDAMN WHAT A JERKFACE! Listen, at the end of S4 I still was not a Buffy fan (character, not show), but that whole Riley blaming her for his deceptions and, yes, I’ll say it, CHEATING, I was fucking livid for Buffy. I was yelling at the screen for her, screaming at Riley hating his face.

GAH. And I was so angry when Xander stuck up for him, saying Buffy was treating him like a rebound because, I’m sorry, but no, that’s not true. I really think Buffy was actually being normal for this guy and really into him. He was a douche. I was so angry when she went running to catch him at the end. If she had caught him in time, I would’ve forfeit the bet. I’m glad she didn’t make it in time. Fuck Riley.

And of course we have to talk about “Hush.” Arguably one of the best episodes of the whole show. Those monsters were so creepy! And their methodology… FREAKY. Funny enough, I watched this episode not long before the Thinman: GHOSTFACERS! episode of Supernatural.

   

Yeah, this charicature is really creepy and I totally get why there is a strong argument that, as a whole, we’ve created this tulpa.

Season 5. I kinda knew Joyce was going to die. My hubs is watching with me and he really thought the tumor was going to get her, but I said, “No, I don’t think so.” And I was right but then I got the sinking suspicion that it was just a red herring and she was going to die anyway. That they were making Buffy feel a false sense of relief and then were going to shatter her. I was right. Now, I’m not saying that because it was obvious or that it wasn’t well done. I think it was. I am still not a SMG fan, but after finding Joyce on the couch and the episodes after, I really liked what she did with the character. It was some of the most believable acting I’ve seen from her. 

Dawn. Meh. I do not like this plot device. I get it, fine. But I hated how we were just supposed to buy her showing up in that first episode. It was so jarring that I Googled it to make sure Netflix hadn’t screwed up and skipped something. To know that Wedon specifically put her in to give Buffy a “strong emotional relationship that wasn’t romantic” is crap to me. She has strong emotional relationships with her mother, Willow, Xander, and Giles. So I don’t buy that. I think she was a replacement for Joyce or Faith or both. I’m so glad this wasn’t my first introduction to Michelle Trachtenberg because I would’ve hated her otherwise. I do not like Dawn or the way she’s written. And I’m glad I’m not alone in that.

Glory. I really dug her as a villain.

And I’m glad we found out why no one noticed why Ben was always showing up in her clothes. Very Doctor Who the Silence!

I was sad that they killed the character of Sunday right off in S4, but I think Glory is very close to what she would have been had she lived.

Spike. Oh, poor Spike. I’ve always been a Spike fan and to know his backstory makes me like him even more. The Buffy-bot was a little more than creepy, but I think we can get past it. Sorta. I like that he’s a good-bad-guy now. I wonder if they ever deactivate the chip, will he stay the same? I hope so.

This got me in the feels:

Willow. I don’t know how I feel about the Willow-Tara storyline. I think I’m still trying to like Tara. The stuttering and the doe-eyes and the insecurities get on my nerves because I think it’s too much at times. And I don’t like how often Willow gets all snotty and snippy. And I really wasn’t a fan of the line, “Hello! Gay now!” That made me cringe. I like the more assertive Willow, and her new amazeballs powers, but I don’t think she needs to act bitchy as often as they make her.

I’ve been promised “evil Willow” soon and that I should dig it. I did like “Vampire Willow”…

…so I imagine I’ll like the next. I really am a fan of Alyson Hannigan – watching this and the last season of HIMYM really highlights what an awesome actress she really is.

Alright, there you have it folks. I am liking the show a lot more! I think I like the show best when Buffy isn’t in a romantic relationship. I’m actually looking forward to S6 – so long as there are no more Rileys and Crusaders (c’mon, that was stupid. Fine, an ancient order on a hunt for a relic, okay, but they can’t still be in chain mail and on horseback in the 2000’s. Nope.com). I understand this season has “Once More With Feeling” and everyone is very excited for me to see it. Though I am not a huge musical fan, so I’ll just keep my fingers crossed on that one.

About Shauna Granger

Like so many other writers, Shauna grew up as an avid reader, but it was in high school that she realized she wanted to be a writer. She released the first installment of her Paranormal YA Series, The Elemental Series, Earth, on May 1, 2011 and has since released four sequels, with the series coming to an end with Spirit. In December of 2013 she release the first in her Paranormal Post-Apocalyptic trilogy, World of Ash. She is currently hard at work on one too many projects, trying to organize the many voices in her head. It's a writer thing.
This entry was posted in characters and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #BuffyWatch Part Four

  1. Shauna Granger says:

    Reblogged this on The Musings of an Author in Progress and commented:

    I’m still kicking Brian’s butt! Come read to see how I’m liking the show and how far I’ve come and how far I’ve yet to go!

  2. I share your disdain for most of Season 4 and of Riley. I’ll be honest, I barely remember what happened in it besides those army guys and Adam being the worst Big Bad of the series. I don’t even remember how Buffy and Riley’s relationship ended, I just remember him being bland. Oh so very bland. I’ll tell you what – after all of the warnings about the Leviathan season of Supernatural, if it’s not the crappiest thing ever put to film, I’ll be disappointed.

    Back to Buffy I wasn’t a huge fan of Dawn at first either – but she grew on me as the series progressed.

    Loved Joyce’s death and the episode afterwards – definitely in my top 5 episodes – Like I said, it’s been so long since I watched the series, but I remember that one pretty vividly.

    Glory was definitely awesome – she had the right amount of swagger and scary to make her a great villain. A definite improvement over the very much underwhelming Adam.

    And Evil Willow <3 <3 <3

  3. Emmie Mears says:

    Dawn really grew on me. And season 5 -7 of Buffy are my favorite seasons, though season 6 for me had to grow on me. The first time I watched it I think it hit waaaaay too close to home in a lot of ways, but on subsequent rewatches it got under my skin and became one of my favorite seasons.

    The Body is hands down one of my favorite television episodes of all time. Any television. All television. It’s death in TV form, and it hits me so real in the feels that every time I see it it still makes me have visceral reactions.

    Riley…bah. Yeah. I don’t loathe him completely, but I think (as is also the case with Piz and some other examples from pop culture), he loved Buffy when she was what he wanted her to be, and he couldn’t take her as she really was. He felt at once emasculated by her strength and self-pitying over her self-sufficient nature. I think she needed to be with him to really learn what it was that she needed from a relationship. And I really hate what Xander said to Buffy about him for the same reasons you do. I could dissect Xander’s opinions on Buffy’s romantic life till the cows come home (essentially I feel like he wanted her to be with Riley because it was a proxy and a validation of his own unrequited feelings for Buffy and gave him hope that she would like someone “normal” like him above the vampires who, in their darkness, could understand her own).

    Erm…anyway. I am so happy that you are now loving this series. ^.^ <3

  4. Pingback: NBC’s Dracula | Spellbound Scribes

Show Us Some Love!

